International ActivitiesInternational Urban Project Award (IUPA)

International Urban Project Award (IUPA)


Global urban development is the focus of today‘s debate. The success, the sustainability, densification and new mobility lead to an urban model from which the entire population benefits. Bauwelt magazine from Berlin and World Architecture WA magazine from Beijing believe that exemplary projects, once implemented, can provide an incredibly important impetus. With the support by Messe München, MMU BAU China, The Architectural Society of China (ASC) and Jung, they are therefore launching a new award called the ‘International Urban Project Award’ for realized projects. The award aims to engage the debate on the values of architecture stimulating in an exemplary way the urban context all over the world. The main criterion for the selected projects is that they are truly outstanding for the further development of architecture and urban design in an international discourse. Their realization in recent, visible parts are not older than 5 years.


The jury meeting will take place in October 2019 in Beijing. The jury members are:

Professor Zhang Li

Professor at Tsinghua University
Editor-in-chief WA magazine
Founder of TeamMinus, Beijing

Boris Schade-Bünsow

Editor-in-chief of Bauwelt, Berlin

Li Cundong

Secretary General of the Chinese Architectural Society (ASC)

Jiaming Cao

Vice President of the Architectural Society of China (ASC)
President of the Architectural Society of Shanghai China (ASSC)

Dr. h.c. Kristin Feireiss

Director of AEDES, Berlin
2013-17 Member of the jury of the Pritzker Architecture Prize
2012 Member of the international jury for the Architecture Biennale in Venice

Dipl.-Ing. Binke Lenhardt

Partner at crossboundaries, Beijing
Member of the BDA (Bund Deutscher Architekten)

Professor Michele Bonino

DAD -Dipartimento di Architettura e Design, Politecnico di Torino


There will be a first prize and two honourable distinctions.

一the prize money consists of 3.000 Euros

一the honourable prize of 1.000 Euros

The jury is entitled to split the sum differently. 

The award ceremony will take place as part of BAU Congress China 2019 on 5th of November 2019 from 1pm - 2pm at the New International Exhibition Center (SNIEC), Shanghai, China. The award will be presented by Hubert Aiwanger, Deputy Prime Minister of Bavaria, Germany and Jiaming Cao, Vice President of the Architectural Society of China.。



All award-winning projects and a selection of further entries will be published in the catalogue of BAU Congress China 2019, WA and Bauwelt as well as shown on the fairgrounds of the New International Exhibition Center (SNIEC), Shanghai, China during BAU China 2019 from November 5-7, 2019.

The festive prize award ceremony and exhibition opening will be on Tuesday, November 7, 2019, from 11am until 12.30pm as part of the conference BAU Congress China held in hall W5.